Skip to main content
The Daily Dose: Questions For Stock Traders

What is a Chartered Financial Analyst (CFA)?

By August 30, 2016February 26th, 2021No Comments

The Chartered Financial Analyst Designation is the Gold Standard in Investment Analysis:

Chartered Financial Analyst (CFA) is a professional credential offered by the CFA Institute, formerly known as the Association for Investment Management and Research (AIMR). Becoming a CFA charterholder involves passing three levels of examinations covering various financial concepts such as accounting, economics, money management, wealth planning, financial analysis, equity investments, etc. Each level of exams is six hours long and administered only 1-2 times per year. The probability of passing all three tests in a row is under 10%. This is one of the most well-respected designations in the field of investment analysis and requires candidates to meet four pieces of criteria.

The first requirement is 48 months of qualified education/work in the investment industry. The second is passing all three levels of the CFA curriculum in order. The third involves becoming a member of the CFA Institute and paying annual dues. And the fourth is adhering to the CFA Institute’s code of ethics and standards of professional conduct. On average, it takes about four years for candidates to complete their CFA charter. Employers of the 135,000+ CFA’s include top financial firms like JP Morgan, CitiGroup, and Morgan Stanley.

Related Post: Trading in the Zone By Mark Douglas – Book Review

Leave a Reply